Skip to main content


Students return to school on Tuesday, September 5 and DPSCD leaders discuss the 2017-2018 school year on Fox 2 Detroit’s “Let It Rip Sunday” on August 27.  President Ivy Bailey was joined by General Superintendent Dr. Nikolai Vitti and Detroit Board of Education President Dr. Iris Taylor.


WHAT'S NEW: Steps for Student Success


DFT's Ivy Bailey, Terrence Martin and Yolanda King offered Steps for Student Success recently on Fox 2 News. Click here to view the segment.

You are cordially invited to participate in the first stop for the NAACP's seven city National Listening Tour titled "NAACP Forward" featuring Interim President & CEO Derrick Johnson and Chairman of the National Board of Directors Leon Russell, among others on August 24  at 6 p.m. at Greater New Mt. Moriah Missionary Baptist Church.   

NAACP Forward is a part of the organization's strategic plan for the future, enhancing its mission, vision, and fight for civil rights amidst a swirling climate of political hostility, voter suppression, income inequality, mass incarceration, police brutality and


The Office of Educator Talent in the Michigan Department of Education will hold a webinar in collaboration with the Office of Professional Preparation Services and the Center for Educational Performance Information designed to prepare educators for the upcoming Educator Effectiveness Label Data Appeals Window from September 1 to December 1, 2017.

The hour-long presentation will provide information on the legislation that influences educator evaluation; the impact that educator effectiveness ratings have on certification; how to read effectiveness ratings in MOECS; reasons why certain data may

  • Ann Arbor Trail Magnet School
  • Bow Elementary Middle
  • J.E. Clark Preparatory
  • Detroit Collegiate Preparatory High School at Northwestern
  • Detroit Institute of Technology at Cody
  • Durfee Elementary-Middle
  • Fisher Magnet Upper Elementary
  • Gompers Elementary-Middle School
  • Henderson Academy
  • Marquette Elementary-Middle
  • Mason Elementary School
  • Osborn Academy of Mathematics
  • Osborn Collegiate Preparatory Academy
  • Osborn Evergreen Academy of Design and Alternative Energy
  • Sampson Academy
  • Thirkell Elementary School
  • Burns Elementary-Middle School
  • Denby High School
  • Ford High School
  • Law Elementary School
  • Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary

The Michigan Supreme Court has decided to consider an appeal filed by Governor Snyder regarding the "3% retirement" case. This is an appeal of the Michigan Court of Appeals' directive that the State of Michigan refund--with interest--the money involuntarily withheld from the paychecks of all public school employees under a 2010 amendment to the Michigan Public School Employees Retirement Act.

From July 2010 through January 2013, the salary of every public school employee was involuntarily reduced by 3% to pay for post-employment retiree health care of persons already retire--even though current