AFT Detroit statement regarding Detroit Board of Education Superintendent Selection Process (Next Steps)

Share This

MARCH 22--The American Federation of Teachers Detroit, at the request of its members, called on the Detroit Board of Education to extend Interim Superintendent Alycia Meriweather an opportunity to interview as a finalist for the Detroit Public Schools Community District superintenden position.

 

During her tenure, Interim Superintendent Meriweather has led the way in restoring trust, confidence and hope in our school district. She has earned an opportunity for further consideration. While we respect the Board's process, we hope that it will give our request ample consideration.

 

Superintendent Selection Process Next Steps

 

Potential finalists will be given a rigorous interview schedule in the upcoming weeks. Interviews will be open to the public and will engage all DPSCD stakeholders including, but not limited to DPSCD staff, business leaders, elected officials and community residents.

 

If you wish to contact the Board, please see the following:

 

Detroit Board of Education

3011 W. Grand Blvd.,

12th Floor Fisher Building

Detroit, MI 48202

Phone: (313) 873-7860

Fax: (313) 873-3284

General Information

Phone: (313) 873-3111

 

 

 

Members of the Detroit Board of Education

 

 

Dr. Iris Taylor

President

Phone: (313) 873-4134

Email: iris.taylor@detroitk12.org

 

 

Angelique Peterson-Mayberry

Vice President

Phone: (313) 873-4146

Email: angelique.peterson-mayberry@detroitk12.org

 

 

Sonya Mays

Treasurer

Phone: (313) 873-4139

Email: sonya.mays@detroitk12.org

 

 

Misha Stallworth

Secretary

Phone: (313) 873-4137

Email: misha.stallworth@detroitk12.org

 

 

Deborah Hunter-Harvill, Ed.D.

Member

Phone: (313) 873-4133

Email: deborah.hunter-harvill@detroitk12.org

 

 

Georgia Lemmons

Member

Phone: (313) 873-4135

Email: georgia.lemmons@detroitk12.org

 

 

LaMar Lemmons

Member

Phone: (313) 873-4138

Email: lamar.lemmons@detroitk12.org