According to the recently amended Michigan School Code, teachers who fail to meet the Code’s certification requirements are decertified by the state. Decertified teachers lose their jobs as well as the system-wide seniority accumulated in the district.
Do Not Lose Your Certification
Do not lose your certification
Remember: Even if the teacher is rehired, that teacher starts at the first-year level in seniority.
-- A Provisional Teaching Certificate will not be renewed unless the individual successfully completes within the first six years of employment at least a three-credit course of study with appropriate field experience in diagnosis, remediation of reading disabilities and differentiation.
-- An individual shall not advance to the Professional Education Certificate unless he or she successfully completes the three-credit course of study mentioned above.
According to Code, newly certified teachers must complete 18 hours of education courses in their first six years before their certificate expires. (The reading requirements can be fulfilled as part of the 18 hours.)
Teachers with more than six years’ experience must complete six hours of education classes every five years before their certificate expires.
The DFT Web site, www.dft231.com, has a link to allow teachers to access their certification information. You can go directly to the Michigan Department of Education Web site at www.mdoe.state.mi.us/teachercert
The certification requirements are available online at www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2005-2006/publicact/htm/2006-PA-0118.htm